Hello, Stranger

ISBN: 9781783785643 Categorii: Diverse, Diverse. An apariție: 2021 Autor: Will Buckingham Editură: Granta Books Tip copertă: Hardcover Număr pagini: 336 Stoc: Stoc limitat

Puteți plasa comenzi doar după login

For readers of Rutger Bregman and Adam Philips, a timely, humane and uplifting exploration of how our history of welcoming strangers can offer a vital antidote to our increasingly atomised world. We navigate our interactions with strangers according to a host of unwritten rules, rituals and (sometimes awkward) attempts at politeness. But what if the people we meet were not a problem, but a gift? When philosopher and traveller Will Buckingham's partner died, he sought solace in throwing open the door to new people. Now, as we reflect on our experiences of the pandemic and its enforced separations, and as global migration figures ever more prominently in our collective future, Buckingham brings together insights from philosophy, anthropology, history and literature to explore how our traditions of meeting the other can mitigate the issues of our time. Taking in stories of loneliness, exile and friendship from classical times to the modern day, and alighting in adapting communities from Birmingham to Myanmar, Hello, Stranger asks: how do we set aside our instinctive xenophobia - fear of outsiders - and embrace our equally natural philoxenia - love of strangers and newness?

Limba
Engleza
Autor
Will Buckingham
Data Publicarii
2021
Editura
Granta Books
Inaltime
22
Latime
14
Grosime
2.3
Tip Coperta
Hardcover
Nr Pag
336
Subtitlu
How We Find Connection in a Disconnected World
Bic
HBG, JH, JHBT
Greutate
444 g
Istoric preț pentru: Hello, Stranger

Produse similare