Sumac

ISBN: 9781911668107 Categorii: Diverse, Diverse. An apariție: 2021 Autor: Anas Atassi Editură: Murdoch Books Tip copertă: Hardcover Număr pagini: 248 Stoc: La comandă

Puteți plasa comenzi doar după login

Perfect for fans of Ottolenghi, Joudie Kalla, John Gregory Smith, Sabrina Ghayour, Falastin and Honey & Co.

Bordering six countries, Syria is a focused area of diversity that has seen countless influences over the centuries.

Syrian Arabs, Kurds, Tuerkemens, Assyrians, Armenians and Greeks and Sunnis, Christians, Alawites and Yazidis have all left their mark on Syria, not least to the country’s food culture.

Modern-day Syrian dishes vary immensely, from those that seem Mediterranean (in Tartus), that have Turkish or Armenian flavours (in Aleppo), or that are kept simple and subtle (in Damascus). But one shared ingredient through all of these cultures and influences is Sumac. This deep-red spice is the ‘red thread’ that connects every dish and is the red thread that will guide you through this book.

A tribute to his homeland, Anas Atassi’s Sumac is an exquisitely photographed cookbook full of recipes that have been passed down through time. Featuring everything from the wonderful Friday breakfasts Anas often ate in his grandmother's garden and his mother's sfeeha (small savoury pies) to za’atar flatbread, batata harra (spicy potatoes), sayadiyah (spicy fish pilaf with caramelised onions) and Zahra (spicy roasted cauliflower) which he enjoys making for his friends.

Each of the 80 traditional and contemporary recipes in this cookbook retains the heart of Syrian family life―a family life shared by the majority of Syrians before the war cast them out across the whole world.

Sumac includes dishes for:

  • Grilled Aubergine with Yoghurt Sauce (Sheikh Mushatah)
  • Chicken Shish Kebab (Shish Tawook)
  • Filo Pastries with Meat and Rice Filling (Ouzi)
  • Chickpeas in Yoghurt Tahini Sauce (Musabaha)
  • Eggs with Beef and Courgette (Mufarakeh)
  • Tomato Soup with Barley and Lamb Shank (Shorbat Ameh)
  • Fish with Sumac Tahini Sauce (Tajen Samak)
  • Ashta and Caramel Bread ‘Cheesecake’ (Aish El Saraya)
  • Forgotten Date Cake
  • Limba
    Engleza
    Subiect Principal
    Mancaruri
    Autor
    Anas Atassi
    Data Publicarii
    2021
    Editura
    Murdoch Books
    Inaltime
    24
    Latime
    20
    Tip Coperta
    Hardcover
    Nr Pag
    248
    Subtitlu
    Recipes and stories from Syria
    Bic
    WBA
    Istoric preț pentru: Sumac

    Produse similare