Punching the Air

ISBN: 9780062996480 Categorii: Diverse, Diverse. An apariție: 2020 Autor: Ibi Zoboi, Yusef Salaam Editură: Balzer & Bray Tip copertă: Hardcover Număr pagini: 400 Stoc: Stoc limitat

Puteți plasa comenzi doar după login

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year* Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

From award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo.

The story that I thought

was my life

didn’t start on the day

I was born

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are white.

The story that I think

will be my life

starts today

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal’s bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it?

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth, in a system designed to strip him of both.

Varsta Recomandata
14-16 ani, 16-18 ani
Limba
Engleza
Autor
Ibi Zoboi, Yusef Salaam
Data Publicarii
2020
Editura
Balzer & Bray
Inaltime
21.1
Latime
14.2
Tip Coperta
Hardcover
Nr Pag
400
Istoric preț pentru: Punching the Air

Produse similare